FAQs

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. I can’t log in!  What am I doing wrong?
  2. I have a change to my roster.  How can I change my roster in Levered?

  3. Can I use Levered on a tablet or phone?

  4. How do I know when it’s time to move my class to the next unit?

  5. How do I advance my whole class to the next unit?

  6. How do I move one student to the next unit?

  7. How are active minutes calculated?

  8. How do I remove the red boxes from my Progress View?

  9. What is a check-in?

  10. How does the Peer Helper function work?

I can’t log in!  What am I doing wrong?

If you are having trouble logging in, check that you are using your integrated login system.  For example, if your district uses Google, Clever, or Microsoft 365, for single sign-on (SSO) check your credentials with your district.  If you are logging in without an SSO partner, then you will sign in through Levered’s webpage. If your credentials are correct, consider resetting your password. Should you need assistance please contact us by clicking Contact Support in the upper right of this page.

I have a change to my roster.  How can I change my roster in Levered?

If you use a single sign-on (SSO) partner like Clever, Google, or Microsoft 365, you will have to contact your district's IT department in order to add or remove students from your roster.  If you do not use SSO to sign in, please contact us by clicking Contact Support in the upper right of this page.

Can I use Levered on a tablet or phone?

Levered will run on tablets, so students can work on any device, though there may be some audio issues on smartphones.  A laptop or desktop is still the best, but iPads or other tablets will also work.

How do I know when it’s time to move my class to the next unit?

Our competency-based model provides for advancement to the next unit based on your individual class progress.  To help you determine when to advance your whole class to the next unit, we have created Course Overview documents that explain when to move to the next unit.

How do I advance my whole class to the next unit?

You can move your whole class to the start of a unit by clicking the Move All button in the upper right corner of Progress View.  Please refer to this article for details and screenshots.

How do I move one student to the next unit?

Go to Progress View and you'll note the current unit is displayed (in this case Unit 5).
Advancing one student A
Click on that box to bring up the list of units.  You'll want to change it to All Units.
Advancing one student B
Now all of the units will be displayed.  This will be a long horizontal display and so you may need to scroll far to the right to find the unit you are currently working on.  Locate the student's name and then click on the arrow of the unit and lesson you'd like to move them to.  In this example, it is the first lesson of Unit 6.
Advancing one student C
You'll be asked to confirm you want to reset the student's activity.  Click Reset Now.
Advancing one student D

How are active minutes calculated?

Active minutes are only tallied when students are actively interacting with the program (i.e. clicking buttons). We do not simply measure the time between when students log in and when they log off, because we know students are not necessarily working the whole time. The challenge is differentiating between kids who have logged in and are not clicking buttons because they are off task, and kids who are logged in and not clicking buttons because they are thinking really hard, or getting help from their teacher or another adult, or working out a problem on a piece of paper. In other words, some kids are probably having their minutes undercounted, and it may often be the ones who are struggling, or who are being most diligent in trying to work things out on paper, which is something we want them to do!

How do I remove the red boxes from my Progress View?

The red highlight over a student's lesson’s score is notifying you that the lesson is incomplete.  One option is to have the student finish the lesson if they have not done so.  The other option is to click on the score, which will open a new tab where you can click on the More button and see a checkbox option that is labeled Mark as official attempt.  Click on this option and it will change from red to blue.  Please check that the student did finish the lesson or have another data source that shows the student is proficient in the skill.

red box issue.001

What is a check-in? 

A check-in is an automated alert prompting you to check for student understanding, typically before or after a quiz, unit review, or unit test.  These alerts show up on your student’s dashboard and  in the Notifications section of Progress View.  You should take a holistic approach to determining if the student is ready to move on.  Look at lesson scores and consider how they have done in class discussions and small group work.  If you feel that the student needs more practice, you can have them do the lesson again, pull them into a small group, or have a one-on-one meeting with them.  If they are ready, move them on to the next lesson or assessment.  To clear the check-in notification, click on the red "X" next to the notification.  For more information about check-ins, watch the video about Progress View.

Check-in notification

How does the Peer Helper function work?

The Peer Helper function allows students to help other students.  As the teacher you have control over which students are assigned as peer helpers.  Please read this article to learn more.